The Moral of the Story is…

July 31, 2007

“I only had one card left. I pulled out my TravelBook and opened it, flicking past the TextMarker and the Eject-O-Hat and on towards the glass panel covering a red painted handle. A note painted on the glass read: IN UNPRECEDENTED EMERGENCY, BREAK GLASS. If this wasn’t an unprecedented emergency, I don’t know what was. I smashed the glass, grabbed the handle and pulled it down with all my strength.”

(‘The Well of Lost Plots‘, © Jasper Fforde 2003, Hodder & Stoughton)

It occurred to me after I published the previous post (When Things Go Wrong) that, although I had described the catalogue of errors that lead to Penny paying the £155 Order for Recovery, I had failed to analyse the mistakes so that we might learn from them.

I can’t begin to comprehend what happened at Transport for London. Their system just spiralled completely out of control.

But, there are safeguards. If you know where to find them, of course. Read the rest of this entry »

