Entrapment

If I receive a handful of complaints about one particular location you can bet your life that the enforcing Authority is milking it for all they are worth.

One such location that has come to my attention recently is at the junction of Battersea Rise and Northcote Road, SW11. As it is on a Red Route this site is enforced by Transport for London.

I took a trip down there to see for myself a few weeks ago and posted the photographs I took to an on-line gallery here. I was even accosted by a passing, angry motorist who had received a ticket a few weeks previously.

t’s a real money trap. The Highway Code says that “You MUST NOT enter the box until your exit road or lane is clear”. Well that presupposes that you can actually see the exit as you enter the box.

When you pull up at the lights in Northcote Road, intending to turn left into Battersea Rise you simply cannot see the exit of the box because your line of sight it is obstructed by buildings and street furniture. The fact that there is an advanced stop line (a box for cyclists) and a pedestrian crossing between you and the yellow box makes matters even worse.

What is more, there is a light controlled pedestrian crossing near the exit. And as we all know, pedestrians will always chance their arm even if there is only a vague chance that they will get across the road.

So, when the lights change, you just have to take a chance and pull into the box and pray that there are no vehicles or pedestrians near the exit. The other problem you have to contend with is that there are buses coming in the opposite direction from Clapham Junction Station. Most of these are turning right from St Johns Road into Battersea Rise. The bus drivers take no prisoners, and if you show any sign of hesitation they will pull across in front of you.

I went round the block a couple of times at the back end of the rush hour and it scared the hell out of me.

It’s nice to know that Transport for London is putting revenue before safety. Thanks Ken.

14 Responses to Entrapment

  1. Comstock says:

    Well that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. Presumably the yellow box pre-dates the forward line for bicycles, although even without that it is difficult to see if the road to the left is clear.

    “I went round the block a couple of times at the back end of the rush hour and it scared the hell out of me” ….and if the drivers are scared of getting a yellow box ticket they are not scared of what they should be- i.e. hitting a cyclist or pedestrian.

    When will the powers that be realise that the vast majority of motorists *want* to obey the law, not just to avoid fines, but because it is the right thing to do. Road layouts like this make it impossible to do that.

  2. TimB says:

    Hi, just appealing a ridiculous notice for this same junction, for two reasons. My rear wheel is *just* in the box junction, and only because there is a pedestrian walking across in front of me! Also, I am clearly not obstructing traffic, given that the picture shows a bus has passed across behind me with no probs whatsoever!

  3. Comstock says:

    Just as a final point from me for now, have you considered making a submission to the back boris website Ideas Bank http://www.backboris.com/ideas.php

    Now I don’t want to bring politics into this but unless this actually becomes an issue at the next election it’s unlikely anything will change, because TFL are not directly accountable. To me this (and CCTV enforcement in general) is an issue worth him picking up, much more so than the C-charge, because lots more people are affected by this (including lots of low income people who never drive in the centre)

    You could also contact the Libdem candiate-when we find out who it is!

  4. […] his response to my previous post Entrapment, Comstock comments “Now I don’t want to bring politics into this […]

  5. Matt G says:

    I just received 2 PCNs for this junction 2 days apart. I was enthused to find your photo page and this blog through the pepipoo forum. I am happy to pay PCNs when I know that they are fair and I have clearly sinned but I will always challenge the dodgy ones.

    Keep up the fight and give Big Bro a kick in the chods when he deserves it!

  6. Nicki T says:

    Seems they are trying to get money together for something as I have been given 2 PCN’s for this junction during december as well! – Its ridiculous – in both incedents I wasnt blocking the flow of traffic.. and in the 1st one issued I wouldnt have been in the box if the car in front had moved forward into the space – very frustrating!

  7. laynaxxx says:

    As I approached a crossroad junction, the traffic lights were green & there was no vehicIes in front of me so I drove on intending to turn left, I couldn’t any cars ahead as it was quite a sharp bend by then it was too late because round the corner there was several cars stuck in traffiic (none on the box) giving me no choice but to stop on a junction box for approx 8 seconds. I am aware of the rules about having clear access & the turning right rule, but I honestly could not see the car around the corner untill it was to late. I have since been fined £120. does anyone have any advice
    shall i contest it

  8. Scott B says:

    Firstly: Excellent site, I came via Pepipoo.
    Secondly: My wife was stung on this junction – can I use the part “You MUST NOT enter the box until your exit road or lane is clear” as the basis of an appeal?
    Thirdly: Has anyone sucessfully appealed a ticket in this junction?

    Many thanks
    Scott

  9. ScottB says:

    I have had my appeal rejected on the grounds that I cannot see the exit and that the bus has pulled accross the road to block my exit even though the road ahead is clear.

    Any developments on people sucessfully appealing this?

  10. Hans says:

    This one is a CON and a half ! !
    TfL had to have this this approved by the DfT a few years ago – search DfT website ;’Yellow Boxes’ (whilst there – DO note how they work; ALL the scribbling over personal and place names; ‘Open Government’ Eh! ! ) – and had to give them VERY precise plans – exact angles/measurements etc – to get that approval. However, the existing box has FAR sharper angles, carries around the corner – up Battersea rise W more etc. Also Lights and crossings are all in different places than plans- Ones in St Johns road are miles further back than they should be – therefore only letting 1- 2 buses out; thats why they CHARGE and block the box. They have also changed the ‘synch’ on the crossings recently, confusing pedestrians still, so they step out at the wrong time, and when it IS their time, they have 5 sec ! ! This is why, even if your exit is clear, they will be jumping in your way.
    Tried to take my ticket to PATAS, with this evidence – would have thought it was open and shut, as TfL simply had NOT followed required plans, therefore Box is invalid.
    Appeal Refused !
    Guess they now can make boxes any shape/angle/length they like, with exits totally out of sight.
    Good luck to you ALL ! ! !

  11. Waggy says:

    Hi.

    First of all, a big well done for fighting the people’s cause, Moneyboxjunction!! It’s people like you who make a difference!

    The use of CCTV systems that were initially bought and paid for by the taxpayer are now used to get yet more money out of them. Meanwhile there are people being stabbed/assaulted on the streets, property being burgled and general vandalism happening left right and centre…and what is the city’s mutlimillion pound investment in CCTV hardware doing…watching yellow box junctions to make yet more (stealth)revenue from citizens who are already paying some of the highest taxes in Europe. Where is this footage when you need to prove a crime has happened? What a joke!

    Sorry just went off on a rant there. 😉

    I got caught in the aforementioned box junction. It requires a 6th sense to predict a safe passage through it. Perhaps we should all be seeing dead people too? It’s probably safer to circumnavigate the world singlehandedly in a dinghy rather than pass over this junction without issue.
    My front tyres were on the junction for a total of 10 seconds – not causing obstruction to anyone or anything but my appeal was rejected and now I wish I had just reveresed into that pedestrian who crossed behind me and I gave way to.

    As Banksy has put it: ‘One Nation under CCTV’.

    Just a quick afterthought – has anyone thought about putting up homemade signs near any of these notorious junctions to warn motorists/passers by of the revenue schemes that are in operation in the local area?

    • steve hufton says:

      Yes, I got caught by this cash cow a couple of months back for just two wheels and not blocking the junction at all. TFL will not give evidence of a London bus that was behind me (from adjoining road)but totally blocking the junction, they claimed the old “data protection” ruse.
      I would like to arrange to spend a few hours one Saturday when a few of us could stand at the junction and warn / hand out leaflets or whatever about the box. A Few hours of this will at least be several hundred pounds that TFL will LOSE! Anyone interested please email me at stevehufton59@yahoo.co.uk

  12. Ozzy says:

    I recently recieved a PCN from TfL regarding this notorious junction. I appealed on the basis; 1. my exit was clear when i entered the box, 2. layout of junction doesn’t match the one proposed to DfT. I receieved my NoR yesterday. What should i do now?

    Thanks

  13. Can I just say what a comfort to uncover somebody who genuinely knows what they are discussing on the web.

    You definitely realize how to bring an issue to light
    and make it important. More people ought to look at this
    and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you are not more popular given that
    you surely possess the gift.

Leave a comment